WhatsApp is a messaging app with more than 1 billion users. Part of what makes WhatsApp popular is its emphasis on privacy. However, recent research shows that using the app’s “clear all chats” button might not actually remove the chats from the user’s digital footprint. Even though WhatsApp deletes the messages, traces of information stay on the database. This means that people could potentially access these messages even after they have been deleted. According to the research, the only way to completely get rid of this information seems to be deleting WhatsApp.